A #WCW FAN LETTER TO SUE TSAI

Blogger’s note: My original plan for this #WCW post was to share 5 or so of my favorite Sue Tsai pieces and why I loved them. The more I Googled the web for inspiration, the more I found myself wishing I was a part of Tsai’s #girlgang and imagining what she would be like in person. You see, I’m not the kind-of gal who loses my sh*t over running into celebrities. After all, if you’re a celebrity, you’ve made it to a level where all the resources and connections for success are readily available at the snap of a finger. I’m a fan-girl of real people, especially real women, who have fought their way from nothing to make themselves something. The ones who’ve faced adversity. The ones who didn’t give up. The ones who continue to fight and blaze a trail for the rest of the hopeful dreamers. Those are the real stars I’m attracted to. This piece pays homage to that feeling.

Dear Sue,

This may seem a little odd, a bit forward and very much out-of-left-field but creating an opportunity for our worlds to collide has always been a daydream of mine. The moment my girl JDuncan shared the piece you created for Wale’s “Bad” cover, was the exact moment you became, what’s best described as, a role model of sorts in my life.

Follow @suetsai. Looove this.

A post shared by J. Duncan (@jenandjoose) on

Back in 2013, I had no idea that one visit to your profile page would turn into a longstanding admiration for not only your art but for the seemingly down-to-earth chick behind the paint brush. I find your everyday posts about life to be relate-able, your previews of new creations amazing and your continuous success as exciting. We’ve never met, yet, I’ve always felt like you are someone I could’ve been friends with in another life.

HOWEVER… If the stars ever aligned for a chance encounter, I would tell you about the animated story you’ve woven through shared stills & images to your legion of followers. Posts you’ve probably never given a second thought about. A story filled with laughs, dreams, empathy and most importantly, hope.

Yes, if I ever get the opportunity to share how you’ve influenced my life, it’d probably go a little something like this:


I’d gush about your unapologetic love for food & lust for flavor. During a time where it constantly feels like the world is judging how “clean” or “organic” our lifestyle choices are, it’s refreshing to see someone who cares about their health, but who also isn’t afraid of letting loose, being indulgent and admitting to it.

pretty sure this is our second dinner of the night 😩

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

My diet on this trip is called "eat everything and hope for a miracle".

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

being fat with @itsdrewskiii 😩

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

breakfast of champions 🏆

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

When you're tryna be healthy but also deserve fried chicken… #KaleSalad #Popeyes #RealBishMeals

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on


Then praise you for your genuine interest in everyone’s success.

And everything in it… #MorningMotivation (Tag the person who deserves it) 🌎👐🏼

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

away we go . . . #trustyourdreams

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

Don't ever apologize for your progression.

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on


I’d point out every time I swore you were my spirit animal.

safety first. #suetsaimornings

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

me. 😩 #homebody #notbudgingunlesstheresfoodinvolved

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

After 7 hours last night I discovered these shoes were made by the devil himself..

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

hangover cures 101

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

Lmao my romantic attempt.

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

What time is the next bus 😂

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on


And then show you where I was in awe of your drive, ambition and work ethic to the times where I celebrated your career highlights & #wins

Kinda lit… #NYFW #Billboard

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

👑 @troubleman31 #bookofkings

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

Got a mention in @Forbes 🙏🏼

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

God bless the women with ambition..

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

Thank you @Ciroc @Variety @WWD for my beautiful honorary brunch today!! #Empowered #CirocBrunch #SueSZN

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on


The almost-but-not-quite near encounters where I just missed meeting you.

Fredericksburg, VA… 🚛🎨🌴

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

Shining like a diamond, I guess I been under pressure lately.. 💎

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on


I mean, simply put, you’re kinda dope af.
From exploring exotic locales to working with the some of the biggest names in hip-hop, you’ve managed to stay grounded while being effortlessly cool and always enviably stylish. (I can’t tell you how many of your outfits I’ve screenshot as inspiration for my own closet and #OOTDs). Your appetite for life matches your appetite for good eatin’. To see someone from my generation killing the game while striving for more success and encouraging others to do so, is the definition of a real champion, mentor & superstar to me. So if you’re ever looking for someone to be the Stephanie Sheppard to your Kim Kardashian or if you suddenly have an open spot in an overbooked workshop or even if you’re in need of a serious ego boost, hollatcha girl. Seriously. It’d be a dream to meet the creative genius behind some of my favorite bodies of art. Thanks for not being afraid to be yourself and for showing our generation & generations to come that real heroines do exist.

Whole squad on that real shit.. #MissingAFew #TheOnlyPlaceIFeelLikeMe #Dusse #NYC

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

Wish you were here…

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

love you with all my art..

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

Cuz my girl @ambar_styles is awesome 💇🏻

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

New Currency: #DeathOfRomance

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

#TheGoldStandard 📷 @kodaklens

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

📦🎨 #BackToWorkButStillSmellLikeAVacation

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

When you gotta clean up for a great cause.. #EasterSealsGala2016 #HaveAnImpact

A post shared by Sue Tsai (@suetsai) on

Sincerely,

Diana T.

all images are courtesy of Instagram

Leave a Reply

