DIY Honey Avocado Masque

IMG_5857

My two favorite foods to spread on my toast are NOW my two favorite things to put on my face and hair!  Just about every day, I have a piece of gluten-free toast smothered in either honey or avocado.  Over the weekend on Saturday morning, as I pulled out a half avocado to make my toast, I had this sudden urge to smear it on my face.  Let me explain, the texture kinda reminded me of this Ponds Cold Cream I used several years ago but I thought about how luxurious this natural fruit would feel on my face.  I mean, I usually try to contain my eccentric urges but I recalled seeing an avocado masque pop up on my Pinterest a while back – so I felt it was totally justifiable, in case anyone asked.

I thought to myself, “Yes!  A legitimate excuse to play with my food as an adult!  And another excuse to channel my spirit animal/ soul sister Topanga Lawrence from Boy Meets World!”

I composed myself by containing my sheer excitement and proceeded to smear some fingerfuls of avocado on my cheeks.  It felt super hydrating, nourishing and soothing.  I scooped the rest of the avocado into a bowl and added about 2-3 tablespoons of honey.  Next, mixed it up with a spoon and fork really well (you can use a masher/grinder tool if you have one, or throw it in a blender, if you’re really determined to make it into a very fine paste).  Then, I continued to put the rest of the mix on my face and scalp.  I let it sit for 45 minutes and hopped into the shower to wash all of it off really well.

topanga lipstickgiphy2

As a recap, the ingredients I used are: *1/2 organic avocado & 2-3 tablespoons of local honey

I do think it’s important to shop organic.  I want to minimize interactions with harsh chemicals like pesticides, etc. as much as possible.  Anyway, while letting the masque sit on my face for 45 minutes, I did some research into the benefits of combining avocado and honey as a masque treatment.  Turns out it’s a skin elixir for everything from acne, eczema, psoriasis, dandruff, aging related conditions like fine lines and wrinkles, and so on.  

Avocados contain vitamins A, B, C, and E and amino acids which: *Help protect the skin from solar radiation and slows down signs of aging; Naturally and effectively moisturizes, softens and soothes the skin; Decreases inflammation (hence the eczema, acne, and psoriasis benefits)

Honey, a natural antibacterial: *Helps unclog pores; Naturally moisturizes and soothes the skin; Uses its antioxidant properties to help fade age spots and hyper-pigmentation                                                                                                                        

Okay, let’s get to the results…

So, I typically have oily/combination skin (so oily that my cat often mistakes my T-Zone for a shiny toy, so oily that I could grease a skillet with my forehead and successfully roast some veggies).  So I wasn’t sure how my T-Zone would look after this masque but let me tell you! –

My entire face feels supple, smooth and even looks less oily.  It was almost strange feeling my facial skin be so hydrated without appearing oily.  My skin has looked radiant ever since.  What’s most exciting for me is that one day after this masque treatment and the crazy flakes on my scalp are STILL GONE (I know – it’s weird that I have such an oily T-Zone but a dry, flaky scalp).  I mean, I could seriously create a blizzard on my papers by scratching my scalp before doing this masque but now, TA-DA! – No more flakes!  It’s amazing!  It got me in the mood to do an interpretive dance exhibiting my love for Mother Earth and the Heavens like:

giphy3giphy4

After this positive experience, I’ll be sure to buy a few more avocados on my grocery trips in order to make this DIY Honey Avocado Masque part of a bi-weekly regimen! Namaste, y’all and be well!  Be-you!  Be-you-ti-full!

Leave a Reply

